A Reason to Sing

DISCLAIMER: I don’t want anyone to think that I am at all pointing a finger at anyone but myself in this post. The posts that I write tend to be directly from my journal or my brain. I am reprimanding myself as much as anything.

Music is such a beautiful way to give God glory. If you are like me, you have a few all-time favorite worship songs. These songs hold truths that you have clung to in hard times and have declared in all seasons.

Sometimes though, there are songs that don’t speak to us in the same way that others do. So what do we do then? Do we just suffer through the next four minutes and hope that the worship leader doesn’t continue singing the bridge over and over? Let me propose to you the idea that worship isn’t about us.

Now I know what you are thinking, of course it isn’t! It’s about God. Duh.

You are correct, worship should be about God. But when you and I pick and choose our way around certain worship songs or ways of worship, we turn the act of worship into something that is focused on us.

Now am I saying that you can’t have a favorite worship song? Not at all! You put me in a room and have anyone start singing “Here For You” or “Forever Reign” or so many others, I will worship. But if worship really is giving God the glory in everything, shouldn’t we do that even when it isn’t our favorite song?

Louie Giglio says that, “Worship is simply giving God His breath back.” We need to be in a constant state of giving God His breath back, regardless of what song is on.

“The Desert Song” by Hillsong is one of those songs that always gets me. One of its lyrics says, very simply, that I have a reason to sing. And isn’t that so true? I have so many reasons to sing to God. He has done so much for me, and if I simply sat down and took more than one minute to thank Him, I think I just might end up singing.

“Because Your love is better than life, my lips will glorify You.” Psalm 63:3

Leave a Reply

