Speaking of the Future….

The future is a scary, scary thing.

The knowledge that one day I will move out and be in charge of myself is slightly terrifying. Eventually I will have to pay for my own home, get my own groceries, have my own car payments, and do all sorts of other grown-up things. This scares and excites me at the same time.

Last night I spent some time looking at car prices, just to see where I need to be financially in the next year or two. This only made my fear escalate.

Sometimes I think its funny that as children we always wanted to grow up. Why did we think it was so exciting to be an adult? The older I get, the younger I wish I was.

I am a what-if person. So last night for me became a night of what-ifs. What if I make a mistake and move out too soon? What if I can’t support myself financially? What if I buy a car I can’t afford? And on and on and on. But you know what I remembered in the middle of my freak out session? I remembered that God has the whole world in His hands. And not only does He have the world in His hands today, but He will have it tomorrow too. He hold my every tomorrow, and I am safe in His hands.

Another thing I remembered last night was the fact that I can’t surprise God by my actions. God isn’t going to look at my choice of apartment complex, job, degree, or husband and say, “That wasn’t the plan! Now what do I do with you?!”

Do I believe that God has a plan for me? Absolutely. Do I think that God can work through the mistakes I am bound to make? Yes. If He couldn’t, then we would all already be done living.

Last night my what-if session turned into a this-is-what-I-know-about-my-God session. I know that God has my future in His hands, and I know that He can work through my mistakes. How comforting to know that!

Leave a Reply

