Why Sundays Make Me Smile

One morning a week I wake up smiling. I smile because I know what the day before me holds. When I wake up and realize that it is Sunday, I feel like I just remembered it was my birthday. Sundays make me smile. Let me tell you why.

The people I see on Sundays make me smile. They are such an encouragement to me. We talk, hug, catch up on each others lives, and serve together. And the kids! The kids I see on Sundays melt my heart and fill me with more joy than I can contain.

The way I get to worship on Sundays makes me smile. I am a firm believer in worshipping God alone, and do so on a regular basis, but corporate worship is like nothing else. I believe that it is such a pure picture of what Heaven will be like. Imagine getting to sing praises to our God every day for eternity.

The family I get to be with on Sundays make me smile. In my house, Sundays are a day to reconnect, laugh, and beat each other at board/card games. We turn off our electronics and focus on what is happening where we are. Some of our best memories have come from lazy Sunday afternoons.

The rest I get on Sundays makes me smile. Sundays are the Sabbath day, a day of rest from your many duties. I’ll be honest, a lot of my Sunday afternoons are homework afternoons, but the times that I can just sit quietly with my Bible or a good book soothe me and prepare me for the busyness of the week ahead.

The God I get to serve makes me smile. Every single reason I have listed can be summed up in Him. He is the reason I have the family I have. He is the reason I go to church and serve and worship. He is the reason I have the joy I do. I can laugh in the face of my fears, dance in the middle of my doubts, and rejoice in the middle of my trials, all because of Him.

Sundays make me smile. But then again, with God, every single day gives me a reason to smile.

Leave a Reply

