That One Girl

I have a verse hanging up in my room. Proverbs 31:25. It says, “She is clothed with strength and dignity and laughs without fear of the future.”

About a year ago, me and one of my best friends were asked to talk to a group of middle school girls about relationships and dealing with boys. We wanted to talk to them about becoming the girl a godly man wants. In preparing for this, we did a little studying on Proverbs 31. Proverbs 31:10-31 is all about the Wife of Noble Character. In this portion of the Bible is where you find the verse that speaks about beauty being fleeting. But that wasn’t the verse we used as our main verse. Instead we used Proverbs 31:25. Since that time, I have constantly used this verse to challenge my own walk.

Proverbs 31:25 speaks of a woman who is “clothed with strength and dignity.” I think we all know what strength is, but the dictionary definition of dignity is quite interesting. It says that dignity is bearing, conduct or speech that is indicative of self respect. To be clothed with strength and dignity is to make yourself worthy of honor and respect.

My friend and I talked to the middle school girls about how they can make themselves worthy of honor and respect, by dressing appropriate and acting their age and so on. But honestly, I think that I learned more by teaching them then the girls did by hearing me. I have asked myself many, many times these questions: Is what I am doing showing that I am worthy of honor and respect? Am I behaving with dignity?

I think that it is so important to see that this woman was clothed with both strength and dignity. She was strong and was worthy of honor and respect. So many people lose respect in their attempt to become “strong.” This woman’s strength is from the Lord, not the brute strength of a cruel person.

The rest of this verse says that she “laughs without fear of the future.” This gets me every single time I see it. If you read Proverbs 31:10-31, you can see that this woman prepares for the future and works hard to make sure her family has all they need. This preparation, along with her fear of the Lord, is why she can laugh without fear of the future.

To be able to laugh without fear of what may come is a hard thing. I know that I tend to worry more than I should, especially when I feel like I’ve done all I can. But this woman knows that when she has done all she can, God will take over and do the rest. So she isn’t worried, in fact she is able to laugh without the worry or fear. That is a place I would love to be, and hope to get there soon.

The Proverbs 31 woman seems to be much too good to be true. How can one actually become that one girl all good Christian boys are looking for? I think I’ll just take it one verse at a time.

Leave a Reply

