Love Is….(The Start of Something New)

I have the absolute privilege of serving in the student ministry at my church. There are few things more fulfilling to me than having the chance to laugh with, love, and speak truth into the lives of students and children. That being said, our youth ministry just finished a series on love. We finished the series by reading and reflecting on what is considered to be the love chapter of the Bible, 1 Corinthians 13.

1 Corinthians 13

As we read through this chapter, I did what most people who have grown up in church do; I recited it in my head and didn’t really think about the content. As the message ended, I started thinking about the passage again. When the speaker told us to put our name in the place of love (Insert name: is patient, kind, and so forth) I asked myself if I really could do that truthfully with my name. Am I really all of those things, to all people? Do I really understand what it means to be patient, kind, to not be envious or proud?

So in my personal devotions, and here on this blog, I am going to go through everything that 1 Corinthians 13 says that love is and isn’t. I plan on studying the attributes one a week. I have no idea what I will find, but I am ready to challenge myself.

Next week will be the start of something a little new here, and I am ready to go.

“Love Is Patient” will be up next week.

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

