It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered

For those of you who don’t know, I have been writing about my experience studying 1 Corinthians 13, “The Love Chapter” of the Bible. So far this has been a very heart opening experience and has taught me things I need to change in my own life. Hopefully it has encouraged you too!

Verse 5 of 1 Corinthians 13 tells us that love is not rude, self-seeking, or easily angered. As it has been with my past posts, I can read these quickly and think I understand, and I do to a certain degree. But there is so much more if we care to look.

To say that love is not rude is not some life-altering, I never thought about it that way, idea. We all have heard our parents tell us not to be rude. It is not a new concept. But similarly to the idea of being kind even when we aren’t treated kindly, you could almost say that love is not rude back to someone who is rude. At one point in time in our lives we have either been treated rudely or treated some in a rude manner. Why? Because we are human. It happens. Love is not rude in the first place, and love certainly is not rude back.

You know how easy it is to just glide past a word that you don’t see often in our modern language? That is how I have dealt with self-seeking in the past. No one refers to others as self seeking in this day and age. The King James Version of this portion says that love “seeketh not her own”. I know that I look at this and think to myself, well no, I don’t seek my own. I’m pretty selfless. This is not always true. How many times do I ask someone else what they would like to eat, watch, listen to, or wear? We all think of ourselves first by default. But love does not.

Love is not easily angered. I feel like I have no authority to speak on this subject at all. I can get angry so easily. I just let things people say or do set me off. In my defense, I have become much, much better in this area than I have been in the past, but I am nowhere near Jesus in this area.

My father said something during dinner last night that I thought applied so well to this study. God wants to do two simple things in us. He wants us to accept Jesus in our heart, and He wants us to become more like Jesus every single day after that. I know that I can read all that love is and get discouraged at how much I need to change. God wants us to be more like Jesus, but it won’t happen all at once. It is a process.

Philippians 1:6 says this: “Being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus”.

All of these changes in our lives won’t happen all at once. Becoming like Jesus is a journey and the destination is Heaven. So don’t be discouraged by what needs to change in your heart, because none of us are perfect. We are all on a journey to be more like Jesus. And what an exciting journey it is.

 

Leave a Reply

