It Keeps No Record of Wrongs, It Rejoices with the truth

Hi! I apologize again for the lateness of my posting. This semester of college is draining the life out of me. And with my life, my time. Thanks for sticking with me through this little journey. Today’s topic of discussion is listed below. And boy, its a good one.

“It keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.” 1 Corinthians 13:5b-6

Lets be honest with each other for just a second. Have you ever, in your entire life, remembered something that someone did against you and used it against them later? Because I totally have. This happens a lot to me in my home, specifically with my sisters. I am constanly reminding them of things that they have done. As I read this verse, I am overwhelmed with thankfulness that Jesus doesn’t do this to me. Can you imagine? Imagine that God, who knows all and is above all, reminded you of your past failures? I don’t think I could cope with that. But God, God loves us too much to remind us of what we have done. He only encourages us to become what He already sees us as, perfect in His Son.

Verse 6 tells us that “Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.”

I honestly believe that it is much easier to not delight in evil than it is to rejoice with the truth. Sometimes, things go well for someone else, and not you. It can be hard at times to rejoice in someone’s success when you are not experiencing the same. It can be easy to rejoice with our own truth, but harder to rejoice in someone else’s. This is where being selfless comes in to play. When someone we love enjoys success, we rejoice with them in their success. This goes into play in any situation. Maybe your friend got a job that you’ve been hoping for, or maybe they are in a relationship and you aren’t. Rejoice with them!

What if love wasn’t about us? What would happen to our relationships if we stopped bringing up the past? What if we were actually happy for others when they were happy, regardless of our situation? That’s what love is. That’s what love does.

Leave a Reply

