Always

I know that this journey has taken quite some time to get through, but I honestly think that slower is better in this instance. I have breezed through this passage hundreds of times in my Christian life, it was time to really sit and reflect on it. Let’s talk about this verse here:

“It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.” 1 Corinthians 13:7

Always.

Human nature is not about always. We are constantly changing our minds. We are not very good at consistency. Because of this I can say with certainty that we will not be always protecting, trusting, hoping, and persevering. We are only human. We fight, doubt, wonder, and give up.

My mom told me all growing up to not use the words, “always” and “never”. Because chances are, they aren’t true. We will not always protect, trust, hope, and persevere. But that doesn’t mean we never will. I don’t want us to be discouraged with all that love is. Love is a lot of things, all the time. I know that I have failed the love test, and will fail it again. The good news is that Jesus, the Perfect One, is all of these things, all the time. 

God is love. He is love always. This should be the most encouraging thing to us. In looking at this passage, I can see how much I am not when it comes to love. I have to remember that God is all of these things, and He is all of them for me.

Have you failed the love test? If so, don’t be disheartened. God loves you always.

Leave a Reply

