Love Never Fails

As I conclude my little journey through 1 Corinthians 13:4-7, I find myself thoughtful. I have realized a lot about myself and how I respond to others in my life by really thinking about what this passage means. I am also starting to understand that I will never know everything there is to know about the Bible. And I sort of prefer it that way. If there was ending to the knowledge and understanding of the Word of God, that would mean there would be a point in time when someone knew it all. And no human can fully comprehend somethig as big as the Bible. All we can do is prayerfully enjoy its promises and obey its commands. We will finish off this journey with one of the most comforting phrases in the Bible.

“Love never fails.”

Most of you can hear this verse and think about the last wedding you went to. You can recall the mother of the bride wiping her eyes as her daughter walks up the aisle, you can remember the joy of the day. Maybe you remember thinking something along the lines of, They are so young! or, They don’t know how hard married life can be.  I know that the last time I heard this passage at a wedding my response was something along the lines of, Love never fails? I guess I won’t be getting married! What I have to remember though, is that I am not love. I can, at times, be all the different things that love is, but I cannot on this earth be love. Only Jesus can. With this understanding can come a sense of relief. I don’t have to be all things at all times. I can’t be all things at all times. And thats okay. All I can do is try my best to be more like Jesus, the one you never fails.

I don’t know about you but I’m feeling twenty-two!, but I am more than glad that Jesus never fails me. I know I have failed Him so many times, and will fail Him again. But even then, He loves me. The Bible says that even when we were sinners, Christ died for us (Romans 5:8). Even when we were enemies, Jesus loved us. The Scriptures also say that when we are faithless, He remains faithful (2 Timothy 2:13). My relationship with God is in no way dependent on what I do today. Even when I mess up, God never fails me. While this doesn’t give me an excuse to sin  (Romans 3:4), it does give me a reason to believe that I can go on after I do.

Knowing that love never fails fills me with such satisfaction. Jesus loves me! He will never fail me. He is always there for me, comforting and challenging me. As this little journey ends, I hope that you’ve learned a little something about yourself, but mostly I hope that you are reminded of how much Jesus is for us. He is love, and loves us in spite of us. Live in the freedom that comes with His love.

Leave a Reply

