image (1)As I have probably mentioned before, Pride and Prejudice is my all time favorite book. I read it for the first time when I was probably nine or ten, and fell in love with the story. As I grew up, I learned to appreciate the writing style of Jane Austen, the history behind her life, the sarcasm in her words, and what the story says about Austen’s opinion of love and being human.

The first line of Pride and Prejudice is as follows: “It is a truth universally acknowledged that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.”  I mean do you feel the sarcasm? Oh, I love it. The idea of a truth universally acknowledged got me thinking, what are some things that can be something we all see as truth?

Is there any truth that can be referred to as universally acknowledged? In this day and age, everyone has their own opinions on what is true or false, right or wrong. How do we find a truth that is truer than any other?

Being a college student, my classes are full of young people with opinions. College seems to be the place where all of those opinions are not only tolerated, but appreciated and encouraged. It can be hard at times to believe in what you know to be true when the opinions of others can make more sense. There are many college students who lose their faith because of the opinions of others. When their faith is questioned with logical thinking, it can be hard to defend what they think is true. So how do we find this truth?

The only place we can go to find the absolute truth is the Bible. In it are the very Words of God, and God cannot lie. We can know then, that everything in the Bible has to be true. It may not all make sense, but it is the only source of pure truth.

In my college experience, I have learned that everything that is said needs to be placed through a truth filter. If I can put what others say is truth through the filter of the Bible, I can be confident in my decision to believe it or not. There have been many times that something has been said in a college lecture that I didn’t agree with. I had to put those statements through my truth filter and see what the Bible had to say about them.

One thing I have learned about using the Bible as a truth filter is that you can’t use it as one unless you know it. Memorizing scripture is the best way to learn what the Bible says about certain situations in life. The more you know about what God has to say, the easier it is to be confident in your faith.

I know that the Bible is not a universally acknowledged source of truth, but one day it will be. One day every knee will bow and every tongue confess that Jesus is Lord (Romans 14:11). One day, the Bible will be a truth universally acknowledged. I can only hope that Jane Austen stands in Heaven that day and whispers,”That phrase? My idea.”

Leave a Reply

